“I’m Gettin’ Money”: How Hip-Hop influences Wall Street

A True Art Form: Making It Rain

I’m so confused with the state of Hip-Hop/Rap music and the financial messages they are sending. I know it’s not their responsibility to send any kind of message! But I can’t help to think that they are. A while back I was on the train and group of high school kids jumped on. It was a pretty packed train and they spread themselves out in any unoccupied seat but they insisted on speaking-no make that yelling-to each other throughout the rail car. “You ain’t getting money!”, shouted one to another (and I’ll spare you the expletives). But when kids are consumed with “getting money”, then these “artists” are  sending something to our kids who are obviously listening.

Nontraditional Financial Advisors: Rappers???

On one hand, it’s all about how much money you can “make”. I deliberately put the word make in quotations because all we really have to go on is the fact that these musicians throw around money in their videos as if it were….raining (“I make it rain!”) and as if it was real (“AS IF!”). “I Get Money”, blasts from the stereos of some; all said in an effort to attract more women.

On the other hand, they seemed impressed and almost turned on by “Miss Independent”, a woman who can “pay her bills on time” and has her own “toaster”, because she’s a “bread maker” (yea, I didn’t get that one either).

Traditional Financial Advisors, Now Rappers???

Marshall Sylver: The Millionaire Maker

I’ve attended a number of workshops where a “down to earth” financial guru explains how they made it to the top and for only $699 they will tell you too! Throughout the speech they carefully drop in how they “get money” and the items that it afforded them. One actually threw money on the floor and by gosh he made it rain! Grown adults were scrambling on the floor to catch it. And this was way before the recession!

Another, showed us pictures of him and his Aston Martin. And to quote this individual, “most people say you don’t need a $250,000 car until you have driven one”. I can’t make this stuff up. My last experience, the guy spoke of his watch and the $132,000 Benz he paid for in cash.

They too have been afflicted with the shine. I look to them to send a profound message, maybe an epiphany or too. I look for inspiration. But what I have been finding lately, is that they seem to be inspired by the rap game; Throwing money into the faces of those who wish to support them to show that have been successful. I’m sorry but I find it very difficult to listen to someone who i think is trying to hustle me.

Race has zip to do with this conversation. True, most rappers are black and most financial advisors are white, but i think there is something deeper here. It isn’t enough to just have financial stability. There is something fulfilling when you can throw a stack of cash up into the air; when you can walk into a dealership AND cop something; when flashy materials things are your unique selling proposition.

Wall Street

Just look at all of the already wealthy CEO’s who have stolen from their own company for whatever selfish reason. Bernie Madoff self-selected theme song had to be OJ Da Juiceman’s “I’m Gettin’ Money“.

Just like rappers who show off their money to get girls and street credibility, financial advisors and ‘experts’ are starting to do the very same thing. (But not Miss Suze, she wears the same pair of gold earrings everyday)

Things to remember: the messages created and sent through music and even CNBC are just entertainment. The money is used to get you to buy records and books. Who would have though that the same techniques work across such different industries?

4 Responses

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. […] movement that is making its way across musical genres and down the streets of Wall Street. “I’m gettin’ money” is a classic reverence of many, both the rich and broke (a paradox in […]

  3. […] up with the Carters” is a special guest post by my boyfriend and the second edition of “I’m Getting Money“, where MNM discusses the financial influences present in music.  He shares many of the same […]

  4. While I agree that it is very important to have money, I think many of these individuals limit the length of their success by how they obtain the money. Marshall Sylver and Suze Orman are in an entirely different league than most rappers. But that is just my perspective.

Leave a Reply

