F.U.D

Fear. Uncertainty. Doubt. It happens to the best of us. As a thriving finanshionista (and overachiever) at times I find myself questioning everything that I have worked so hard to get. What happens if I fail? Do I really what to do this? Fear sets in and I am uncertain and doubting myself. This is term that my Organization Behavior professor brought to the classes attention tonight and it fit.

I remember trying to join an organization that would have brought me new friends and an expansive network. The process was trying to say the least but something that I had been thinking about joining for years. Mid way through I convinced myself that this was not for me. I worried about the new people I would meet and honestly was quite scared. I expressed my feelings with my family and my sister aided in the self doubt that I cast upon myself. Everyday I would ask myself: Is this really something you want to be a part of?

I’d like to think that I am not one for regrets. There’s very few things that I actually wished I would have done differently. But this one may be on the list. Luckily, all hope is not lost and I will try again.

I find that females mostly find themselves victim to becoming F.U.D’s. The example my professor gave was a woman that worked and worked her way up her company’s organization latter and was promoted to manager. She ran rampant around the office: I’ll have to use a laptop. I’ve never done that before. I’ll have to manage people. What if I’m not good enough?” It got so annoying that her superior eventually told her to stop whining.

But ladies, why are we such FUDs at times? This also goes into a research article I am working on surrounding the topic of women and work and I found an interesting paper in which the author notes that women attest their success in the workplace to serendipity, luck and being at the right place at the right time. While men, will loudly state that they just worked hard.

Ladies, lets remove the fear, uncertainty and doubt from our goals, whether they be work related or self fulfilling. I believe that my brain is not going to construct an idea that I can not follow through on seeing as how it is the most powerful tool one has.

Enjoy your weekend. Do something that you’ve been fearing or doubting your ability to do.

Email me, Miss New Money at somoney@missnewmoney.com to share your thoughts on the subject.

Leave a Reply

