De-Cluttering Receipt Clutter

Often, when cleaning out my closet, I am faced with the daunting task of removing old items from my purses and wallets. This morning, I did just that and found upwards of fifteen receipts, evidence of the constant battle between ‘spender‘ and saverthat rages within.

I was raised to spend money. Let me clarify. I was raised to see nothing wrong with spending money that I either did not have or money that I could not afford to spend on the items I wished to buy. Though living check to check my father was able to purchase two cars and a stereo system that sat in the garage.

This is the way of thinking I am moving against now.

An experiment for you would be to hold on to your receipts for two weeks. I mean every receipt that you get. If you don’t get one, request it. At the end of the two weeks tally up those expenses, add them into the hard copy bills (utilities, etc.) and expenses (medical costs, groceries, etc.) and see how much you save, spend and hold onto. Compare it also to your bi-weekly, weekly or monthly take home pay. You may be surprised to see that you are actually living paycheck to paycheck without realizing it.

‘Surprise’

Here is the first hurdle preventing you from becoming a financially fit woman. Either you’ve been extremely lucky to not have had a true financial emergency requiring immediate cash or you should probably be bracing yourself for one that is heading your way.

2 Responses

  1. Hey, great site, though you may want to change the color of the font that is used in the comment box to pink SO I CAN SEE WHAT I AM TYPING!!!

    Anyway, you are growing into quite the young overachiever and I commend your ambition and insight.

  2. I agree. This is a great site for us fems. who are doing our own thing and generating positive cash flows from our own noggin. I am subscribing to your site. I hope you return the favor and keep up the good content.

    Starr Bailey

    empowereddiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

