A little more NaCl than usual

Sorry for the absence without leave. But a lot has changed since then. Well for starters, I am officially one year older from when I wrote the last post. Flatteringly enough, a guest speaker mistook me for one of my students on a field trip the other day. They are all in the 11th and 12th grades. So hopefully I can maintain the benefits of having found the fountain of youth and always remain six years younger. My beau also aged a year, but four days after I. What can I say! I have a thing for younger men!

I also went into the ocean for the very first time. We went to the beach (my beau and I) with friends to celebrate our birthdays. Now I never went in the ocean before because I was extremely fearful of all the little ocean creatures touching me, and grabbing me and possibly stinging me. So I respected their space and stayed on the sand. This time to the beach was different. I was brought in (against my will) and eased into the ocean. The sand was rocky hard and water was extremely salty. I wasn’t the only one who noticed there was a little more NaCl than usual.

I got another job! This time I am working at my school library. A laid back opportunity that will allow me to study and get some work done while bringing in extra cash. I decided that all the money I make from this job is going to go towards my credit cards. I’ve got that total balance down to $1400. I could make due without another job. But I wanted to bring in more money to speed up the process of paying down debt and increasing assets. While there the other day, I realized also that by working at two jobs and class at night, I’ve really gained a deeper appreciation of the ethics behind “working hard”. Now this may sound weird, but hear me out. I’ve never really had to work hard at anything. Part of it comes from me just being fabulous and good (or mediocre) at all that I did. However, the other part (and I think this is the biggest part) was that when things got hard, that was my cue to quit or walk away. Convince myself that I did not want what I had been working towards. And in the end, I’ve been cheating myself out of great opportunities. No regrets though. I can only move forward.

And in sadder news. I had to come to the realization that my investment club was floundering. Participation rates were dwindling, with the relocations of many, new jobs etc. and the club was getting the attention form each partner as it deserved. It will rise again, just with a different and more dedicated following. It definitely was a learning lesson and at this point that is all I can ask for.

Leave a Reply

